Twitter – Negative Tweets vs. Positive Tweets

Twitter – Negative Tweets vs. Positive Tweets

By Eileen Brown

Negative Tweets.

Just lately I’ve been seeing a lot of negative tweets.  Perhaps it’s because I tend to follow positive thinkers but managed to throw in a few negatives by mistake.  OR, some people decided to denigrate those of us who, for whatever reason, decide to unfollow a particular tweeter.

The tweets themselves look like this:

UNFOLLOWED ME: @whoever, @anotherwhoever, @andsoon,

And some of those say they blocked you too or say something like “good riddance” or “good-bye” or some such.

Why would someone want to slander another twitter account because they unfollowed?  This, in and of itself, is simply bad business.

Whoever started this little bit of unflattering activity should be ashamed of themselves.  I bet they get more unfollows because of those tweets too.

I did a thing this morning that after it was done, I thought I might have made a negative tweet myself.

“@un-named  Stop sending so many PM ADs! PLEASE! Your tweets are advertisement enough for cripe’s sake. One more and I will UNFOLLOW.”

I did not go back and delete it either.  I thought about it though.  It is a public admonition but I was simply miffed off about all the PM those folks were sending me at twitter.  They were all “sixfigureincome” crapola.

I now feel like perhaps I should delete that entry.  THEN, I think well, IF those folks pay attention to the tweet and don’t send anymore PM ads, I might not unfollow, right?   Otherwise, they are not paying attention to their followers, at all.  I am probably gonna unfollow anyhowsen, as I am not interested in “sixfigureincome” as they purport to know all about.

And then of course there are the out and out hate mongers who seem to have sprung up too.  Luckily, I’ve not been privy to any of those tweets but some folks I follow have drawn attention to those, so I do know about them.  You probably do too, so no need to go there and draw more attention to those types of folks.

Positive Tweets.

We all see these everywhere – nice folks who are getting to know each other through tweets.  Unlike FB, G+ and many other social media sites, Twitter leaves us to our own to follow and unfollow whom we please.  AND they make it so easy for anyone to understand. OK, so those other places do too, but so much information is there that it takes much longer to decide who to follow, you know? Plus, it can be hard to find out how to unfollow folks at many other social media sites.

Positive tweets – I really don’t think I have to go into much detail here.  I tweet for business but I also pay attention to all the @ mentions and reply as is required by nice web etiquette.  Or just etiquette in general.  Tweets don’t take long to type out and any personal touch should be noticed fairly easily.

Some folks have made a whole career out of tweeting positive messages.  I like those too.  You know the ones I mean, so no explanation is necessary here either.

What do you think?

Have you seen the negative tweets I mentioned?

Do you follow only positive folks?

Sound OFF and I’ll join the conversations you nice folks start.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Twitter – Negative Tweets vs. Positive Tweets

  1. It’s kind of ironic, isn’t it? To think of “tweets” being negative. ..tweets are birdcalls after all. Just goes to show you that life is extremely weird. I like voices that sound genuine, I guess. And anything that is completely one-sided makes me shudder a little. I mean, you know . . .it’s never all one way or the other, is it? Overly optimistic people can be just as unnerving. . .I wonder about the rest of the story. We live in a world that has a lot of shades. . . Peronally I wish we’d be more observant as a culture instead of judgemental. (good vs. bad) At any rate, I would go nuts if someone was spamming my mailbox with offers of silly schemes to earn a million dollars. 🙂

    Have a good one!

    Like

    • Hi tessf. Been seeing you around a bit. Will get over to your blog and catch up soon too. 🙂

      Yeah, I thought about that a bit myself. Some negative tweets (tweet-tweet – nothing negative about that ,eh?) are funny and some are spot on. Not all negativity is bad, just as all jokes are not funny. I can be all over negative when the mood strikes me. But on twitter, just thinking “tweet” does not make for a negative feeling, overall.

      And as much as we know NOT to be judgmental, some of our gut feelings show up many times, on one side or the other of an issue. There is plenty of gray area too, I have to admit you are certainly right on that point.

      Thanks for your comment – see you soon at YOUR blog. 🙂

      Like

  2. OK – an update here:

    I wound up UNFOLLOWING that one account because they PM’d me again with yet another blasted AD! SO, this tells me they not only don’t look at anyone else’s tweets that follow them but they also don’t look at tweets about them in their own account.
    Pffft – I am out’a there for good. Heh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

